I got completely sidetracked from my initial goals for the Tour de Fleece, but I’m pretty happy with what I accomplished.

The first project I started was the swap batts I got from Sherie.  I’ve still got two batts left to go, and then the plying, but I’ve spun these three cops:

IMG_3567

That was my main spindle project.  I’ve spun a bit of cashmere/silk and a bit of merino/bamboo, but the polwarth/silk batts have been the travelling spinning.  Unfortunately, I don’t know the yardage yet, but I’d guess this is about 3 ounces.

Next was my first full skein spun from the fold, superwash merino from an earlier Ravelry swap.  It’s a little more than 4 ounces, and about 300 yards.

sunflower superwash merino

Continuing in the not-my-usual-yarn vein, I spun a bulkyish 2ply, also superwash merino (but with sari silk and sparkly stuff added); this is about 2 ounces, about 85 yards.

roses in the snow

…And I practiced spinning from the fold some more, followed by my first real attempt at chain-plying.  Not the most successful skein ever, but I’m satisfied with it.  It’s a little more orange and less pink than it looks in this photo.

IMG_3534
That was the last full skein I finished during the Tour, but I started this cormo/bamboo for the last evening.  I spun a bit more of the singles last night, and then plied them; it’s much too neppy for me to want to spin the rest of it.  It’s gorgeous and soft yarn, but my time is valuable.  I think I’m going to try wet-felting with the rest of the fiber.

IMG_3555
This morning, on the way to work, I took a break from the polwarth/silk for a post-Tour time trial.  I grabbed some of the same targhee top I used just before the TdF started, and spun singles on my walk in.  (I guessed pretty well when I grabbed the fiber!)
IMG_3561

I plied it at lunch and skeined it when I got home.  It’s about 16 yards, where I got 21 yards of 2ply from my pre-Tour time trial, but I think this yarn is better.  (Can’t find the first skein now, though.)  Also, it’s much stickier now, so I’m not upset with myself for not speeding up.

In spinning-related but not actually spinning things, I took advantage of my visit to my parents at the beginning of the Tour to make my first foray into spindle-making: two toy-wheel spindles.  This is the larger one (thicker dowel, larger wheel), with an extra wheel for now because it felt too light with just one.  They’re just held on by friction, so I figure I can take off the second one when there’s enough wool on the spindle to make up for the weight.  I do want to spin more on this (and on the other, smaller one), but I’ve been focussed on the other spindle projects so far.
IMG_3565
The white yarn in this photo is today’s targhee.

So…this is almost nothing like what I had originally hoped to accomplish during the Tour de Fleece, but I’ve learned a couple of new techniques and spun for at least a few minutes nearly every day.  I am pleased.  And maybe I can fit some carding and fleece-washing (and more spinning) in around the packing for the next couple of weeks.

