So…the thing I left out of my Thanksgiving post was the big thing I brought back with me. I did a wee bit of shopping while I was there, but I picked up a new toy I’d had shipped to my parents:

friends

I now have a Louet Victoria!  As soon as I get my current project finished on Amy the Lendrum, I’m planning to have one wheel for big projects and plying and one wheel for small projects and fiber night.
IMG_2050

This is my first plied yarn from Victoria, a sample bit of merino from Enchanted Knoll Farm.
IMG_2078

The knitting continues on the Adamas Shawl–I’m really excited to have reached a color change in the yarn.  I’m also feeling better about its sturdiness, though I still doubt I’ll block it as vigorously as I might a shawl in plied yarn.

And…not spinning/knitting related, I got a late birthday present today, perhaps the best present I’ve gotten this year (even counting the wheel I bought for myself):

birthday scarf

It’s a handsewn silk scarf from my friend Emma–strips of silk, lined up, and sewn together.  It’s totally not my usual (practical) scarf style, but I love it.

.

There’s other stuff to talk about, but I’m utterly fried.  I’m going to spin for a few minutes and then crash.

