I spent much of last week away at a conference, and I’d been even busier than usual in the week or so before we left, and then Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday evenings went into antisocial ignoring-the-world so I could recover from the overstimulation of the meeting. Wednesday…oh, yes, Wednesday evening was a little cleaning and then reading the book I’d picked up from the library. Which meant that last night was the first time in far too long that I actually Made Food. (It’s fall. I eat a lot of apples/asian pears in the fall, with either peanut butter or cheese. Not the healthiest thing ever, but fast and tasty.)

I think it was partly the stop at the farmers’ market that did it. I bought chard and an eggplant, plus a yam and some lettuce, some lamb and some more apples and asian pears.

And I have now had three meals of Real Food (defined as requiring washing and chopping of veggies).

look at that!  a salad!

A salad! It’s been a while since I’ve seen baby greens at the market, and I don’t really eat anything else. Partly because I like getting mixed lettuces/greens and partly because I prefer the texture of the younger leaves. So it’s also been months since I’ve made a green salad at home. (Yes, the bowl is mostly full of lettuce, with a bell pepper on top.)

lunch

Vaguely-Indian chard/squash/pepper stuff. It would’ve been over rice if I’d had enough rice, but the whole wheat couscous is pretty good with it. This isn’t my best Indian-ish food ever, but it’s not bad.

eggplant/tofu/broccoli/pepper

And tonight, I stopped for tofu on the way home and ended up getting a head of broccoli as well. (I also discovered a pepper in the veggie drawer of my fridge.) I’d been wanting eggplant with tofu in black bean sauce, but it’s even better with pepper and broccoli (and hoisin sauce), too. Yum.

Restaurant and catered and truck foods all have their places, but real, homecooked food is far superior. It’s nice to be back to it.

