Last Saturday, Anju and I went to the Pennypack Ecological Restoration Trust to wander around someplace that didn’t feel like a city. It was wonderful. The trails were easy, which was good because I’d forgotten to wear shoes other than birki’s, and it really felt rural. We couldn’t hear traffic, really, except for the occasional plane. And there were lots and lots of birds, some of which I’d never seen before.

very friendly bird

This is a tree swallow (based on my field guide and several people’s input). It kindly sat in its bird box, right next to the path, while I took its portrait. (There were also a few verifiable bluebirds, and some turkeys, but they were shyer.)

vetch with ants

grass flowers

I was struck by how purple these grass flowers were. (They’re part of the meadow restoration project.)

