Per Chris‘s request, how I wind yarn into two equal balls (usually for toe-up socks):

before winding

For this example, I used a small skein of handspun that’s blue at one end and yellow at the other.

wound-once

First, I wind all of the yarn on the ballwinder.

2nd winding

Then I start winding again, starting with the outside end of the wound yarn.  I usually let the winding-on yarn slide between two of my fingers and hold the still-wound yarn in my palm.  (It occurs to me now that this might’ve been a useful picture…)

wound-twice

I wind until I think I have about half of the yarn left. These two balls of yarn weigh about the same amount; the second winding was a bit looser than the first, so the bluer one looks bigger. If I were actually going to use this yarn for sock toes, I’d weigh the balls of yarn on a good scale and then wind any extra around the outside of the smaller ball of yarn. (I often take one ball, tare the scale with that approximate half of the yarn, and then switch which ball of yarn I’m holding.)

*****

DSCN7404

Anne requested more information about Clara’s class on Saturday. Basically, she worked through the main points of her book, discussing the contributions of fiber content and yarn structure to the functionality of the final yarn. We started with tufts of a few different kinds of roving and then moved through woollen v. worsted structure and a variety of different plying techniques. I would wholeheartedly recommend it to non-spinning knitters. For spinners, if you’ve spent much time thinking about yarn structure (which you probably have), you’ll probably already know some of the material from this workshop. It may still be useful–I definitely picked up some new stuff, and I enjoyed it–but spinners were clearly not Clara’s intended audience.

