I made cookies for last night’s Fiber Night, and they were sufficiently well received that I thought I’d post the recipe.  I was excited to find this recipe because they’re gluten-free and sweetened only with honey, expanding the range of people who can eat them.

They’re not the most photogenic of cookies, and I neglected to photograph them anyway, but here’s the recipe as I made them:

3 c ground almonds [I used almond meal from Trader Joe’s]
2 eggs
1/2 c honey
1/4 t salt
1/2 t vanilla

Mix everything together and chill for 3 hours.  Spoon into blobs ranging from horsechestnut-sized to walnut-hull-sized and bake ~12′ at 350ºF.  Makes ~3 dozen smallish cookies.  (They puff up a little bit, but they don’t spread.)

The original recipe called for ground hazelnuts; they’d probably also be quite good with ground walnuts, and I should be able to do that with local walnuts, eggs, and honey, if not local salt or vanilla.  (The eggs and honey in this batch were both local, the honey even coming from West Philly.)  I had originally hoped to have enough cookies to feed some to my labmates before Fiber Night, but I think I’d want to do at least a batch and a half if I were going to split them up like that. 

I’m getting ready for next week’s Penny-Wise Eat Local Challenge (as previously discussed here).  I’m thinking of starting early–on Sunday–so I can exclude the following Saturday and head up to New York for the day.  This project is also going to (finally!) get me to the Fair Food Farmstand in Reading Terminal Market tomorrow morning, so I can get the best possible variety of local food to cook. 

