Yesterday evening’s focus was food.  First, there was the making and eating of latkes with Sarah, Patrick, and Mary.  Mmm, latkes with homemade applesauce and (not-homemade) sour cream.  And then I baked cookies.  My dad improvised some chocolate-orange cookies with cranberries and chocolate chips for a potluck last week, and he was nice enough to write out a recipe and send it to me so I could try it out.

They came out really well, nicely chewy without being cakey.  (I will post a picture here sometime soon–they’re pretty as well as tasty.)  The recipe and discussion are in the extended entry.

Chocolate-orange-cranberry cookies.

2 cups sugar
½ cup oil
2 eggs
¼ cup orange juice
zest of 1 orange

3 cups flour
1 cup cocoa
1.5 tsp baking soda
1/4 t mace

2 cups chocolate chips
½ cup cranberries (dried, sweetened)

Blend oil and sugar, add eggs, then juice and zest.
Mix flour, cocoa, and soda, then add to wet ingredients.
Fold in chips and cranberries.

Bake 10 minutes at 375 F.

******************

Mods:

First of all, I made a half recipe, since I don’t need the four dozen or so cookies the full recipe would make.  I also used much less than the zest of even half an orange, because my grater is less efficient than I would like, but I used as much as I could get.  I skipped the mace entirely, because I didn’t have any, but you could also probably substitute nutmeg if you wanted to (mace being the stuff from around the outside of the nutmeg nut).  I would also warn you that it’s a really stiff dough, so you should be sure to use a sturdy spoon for mixing if you’re not using an electric mixer.  (And if your electric mixer is less than robust, you might want to use a spoon, but I tend toward using spoons and hand-power anyway.)

