…why I don’t knit garter stitch scarves.

Dscn5227

They are boring.  On the other hand, they are also fast.  I knit this one up yesterday (plus half an hour on Saturday), for one of my labmates who had yet to acquire a scarf.  (It’s supposed to be in the 20’s tonight!  She’s from Florida!)  I’m not sure exactly how much yarn it was, since it was scavenged from a very old sweater-project, but it’s Rowan Polar knit on 13s, and it’s just long enough to wrap once around my neck (braid on the outside of the scarf) and tuck into a coat.

Here’s some evidence that I didn’t spend quite all of yesterday knitting the scarf:

Dscn5225

Kirsten came over for a while, and we made truffles.  The cocoa-covered ones are cinnamon-y, and the other ones are plain chocolate coated in almond meal.  (If I were making those again, I’d toast the almond meal.)  Recipe in the extended entry.

Chocolate Truffles

1/3 c whipping cream
8 ounces semisweet chocolate
1/3 c butter, softened

powdered sugar or cocoa powder

In a 2 qt saucepan, combine cream and chocolate.  Cook over low heat,
stir regularly, until melted.  Remove from heat.  Add butter and stir
until melted.  (Add flavoring if desired – orange or almond extract, for
example, about 1/2 tsp.)  Cover and refrigerate until firm, about 2
hours.  Dust hands with powdered sugar or cocoa, and roll balls of
truffle mixture, dropping into powder when needed.  Refrigerate until
firm.  Remove from refrigerator 30 minutes before serving.

I’m not sure exactly what the difference is, but we used heavy cream rather than something labelled as whipping cream, and the butter was mostly melted rather than merely softened.  I should also note that truffles are better in texture if made with baking chocolate rather than other chocolate, but these still came out fine (with chocolate chips being the greater portion of the chocolate).

