Before I forget, here is the link I mentioned at Fiber Night last week: Grover is Bitter, courtesy of Norma.

Also, last week was a reasonably productive week in terms of baking, although I didn’t do any other cooking. But here’s a picture of the entirely vegan, margarine-free, chocolate-raspberry layer cake I made for a friend’s birthday on Sunday:

Dscn5005_1

And I’ve now passed the 5000-mark on my digital camera. Five thousand pictures, in about three and a half years, a lot of them for various blogging purposes. Huh.

One last bit–the recipe for the chocolate-orange cookies I made last week is in the extended entry.


chocolate orange cookies

1.5 c white sugar
~2t blackstrap molasses
1/3 c oil
1 egg
1 t orange extract
1 scant t vanilla extract
2 T soymilk
1.5 c white flour
1 c cocoa
1 t baking soda

Mix all the ingredients together. Bake 10 minutes at 375ยบ. This should make about 3-4 dozen medium-to-small, crispy cookies.

