Yet again, my one local meal for the week was Saturday dinner. I keep intending to cook “real food” during the week, but that’s more of a challenge for me than using local ingredients when I do cook. Anyway, I have been craving Indian food lately, and it’s been a while since I’ve done much Indian-style cooking, so this week’s meal tended in that direction.

Ols0902

The (local, organic, and blue) potatoes are roasted as usual but with cumin, coriander, and turmeric added to my standard complement of seasonings (salt, pepper, basil, parsley, garlic, onion, cayenne). The other stuff there is tofu and kale with onion and a similar assortment of spices plus ginger, cider vinegar, and garam masala. (I had been worried that I’d eaten too much of the tofu while prepping everything else, but then the kale cooked down more than I’d expected, so it worked out nicely.) I also rounded out my local dinner with a Yuengling porter–I couldn’t very well go to all that trouble to make a local meal and then drink [very not-local] soymilk, after all.

