(Specifically to what she said here.)

I was soooo excited to finish spinning and plying my redwood bfl last weekend (while watching my new DVDs of the second season of House). And then I washed it and compared it to the batch from which I’ve been knitting the diamond fantasy shawl.

Redwoodwithshawl
click for larger version

Those are…not the same grist. Crap. So now I need to decide what to do for the rest of the shawl. Do I just pretend I never noticed a difference? Do I take the rest of the unknitted yarn and alternate skeins a bit? I really don’t want to rip, ’cause the first batch, at least, doesn’t hold up as well as I’d like through tinking–it’s a smidge too fluffy for that. I suppose I could also try S-spinning some of the copper corriedale I got to finish the shawl and make a sorta half-cabled yarn.

Other suggestions would be quite welcome.

