In lieu of trying the official Eat Local Challenge again this year, I signed up for Liz‘s One Local Summer. The idea is to cook one meal per week using only local ingredients. I’m actually finding this more difficult than the ELC, since I had allowed myself to use anything that was already in my kitchen. With OLS, though, not using any of the rice noodles or other pasta or rice or flour or whatever–clearly not grown or processed near Philly–means changing how I plan my meals. Last week, I opted for local potatoes.

Ols0707

This is my standard approach to potatoes (cube, coat with olive oil, salt, pepper, basil, & parsley, and roast at 350ºF until done) and one of my I-want-complete-protein-fast things: two zucchini sautéed with an egg (and various seasonings, including some turmeric). The potatoes, egg, and zucchini were all from my local farmers’ market; none of the seasonings were local. (On the other hand, the parsley was from my parents’ CSA, dried in my dad’s food dehydrator…just an eight-hour drive or eleven-hour train ride away.)

For this week, I’m going to try really hard to do some all-local cooking before the weekend, or at least get myself to the internet before Sunday evening…

