I’m not sure I’d mentioned it here, but I spent the last couple of weeks looking for (and not finding) my skein of redwood bfl. I looked in all of the places where there’s supposed to be yarn, all the places where I keep spinning fiber, and four or five boxes labelled “misc bedroom” or “misc living room”. Three times, at least. Oh, and also all of my boxes of books, since I used yarn as padding in some of the odd spaces in some of them. I had about given up, figuring that the moving gremlins had won this round, and I was going to wind off the green Boogie laceweight and start my peacock feathers shawl. And then, last night, I went looking for my lazy kate. I was sure I’d unpacked it from my laundry-hamper-turned-wrapping-paper-holder, so I figured maybe it was under my bed (after, y’know, looking by the other spinning stuffs). And, lo and behold, there was yet another box labelled “misc bedroom”, which turned out to contain (among other things) my redwood bfl! Hurrah! (And then I looked again in the paper hamper thingy, and found the lazy kate. Turns out it’s shorter than I’d remembered, so it fit flat in the bottom.)

I was so excited that I had to immediately wind it into a ball and start knitting.

Dfsstart

It’s not nearly that monochromatic. I suppose it’s the combination of my camera and the sun on my desk. But it’s a nice range of pink to brown, and really not a single color. Maybe the next picture I take will be more accurate.

And…I went to knitting at Kirsten‘s on Saturday, where I alternated between knitting on the autumn sunset shawl (now about 13 repeats long) and spinning from the silk cap I bought at Maryland. There are some really, really fine bits, but it’s sufficiently not-overplied that I figured I’d see what’d happen if I left it as a single ply. (It’s about time to not ply something, right?) I wound off the silk the other night, and it only broke once. Out of 115 circuits around my two-yard niddy-noddy. I was impressed.

Anyway, here ’tis, with a bus token for scale (about the same size as a quarter):

Silkskein1_1

Mmm, silk.

