I’ve settled on a name for my wheel–her name is Amy. Not for any of the Amys I’ve met, but for the protagonist in a book that was a birthday present when I was two* and which I’ve read numerous times since then: The Ordinary Princess. The seventh princess of Phantasmorania had about a dozen names, beginning with Amethyst, but after the head water fairy gave at her naming the gift of ordinariness, it got shortened to Amy. I’d describe more of the book and why I love it, but I think you should just read it. It’s short, and it’s got lovely illustrations…

It’s certainly not the only factor, but it may have had something to do with my continuing fondness for modern** and feminist fairy tales.

*or maybe three, considering the publication date on Amazon
**in publication date, not setting

