I made chocolate chip cookies again. I wanted to tweak that last recipe into something I’d really like (chewier cookies), and it can’t exactly hurt to take cookies to lab meeting when I’m presenting. So I added more flour, doubled what had been half a recipe, used less vanilla…and got perfect cookies.*

Except that the dough was a bit oily, or maybe I just added too many chocolate chips, ’cause I had a handful of chocolate chips in the bottom of my mixing bowl when I ran out of cookie dough. I didn’t want to try to improvise a miniature batch of cookie dough to surround them, and I didn’t want to throw them out. (And, with my sensitivity to raw animal protein, I didn’t want to eat them raw, either.) So I decided to improvise something puddingy, and I got this:

Puddingsouffle

It’s kind of a cross between pudding and soufflé (bearing in mind that it’s been years since I’ve had soufflé, so I may be misremembering it). And it is so good. I may have to make something like this for the next dinner party I have. Mmmm…

Although the leftover cookie dough isn’t a terribly reproducible ingredient, here’s what I did:

1 egg, beaten
1/4 c nonfat vanilla yogurt (stonyfield farm)
1 T flour
maybe 1/4 c chocolate chips with oats and doughy bits

baked in a 16-oz corningware dish at about 300º for about 30′, aka until the top wasn’t jiggly

It fell, but it’s still really tasty.

*If you’re interested: take the recipe I posted before, double it, and bump the flour up to about 2.25c. And cut the oil to 3/4 c.

