I have continued to knit away at the OK socks. Astonishingly enough, the ~100 yards of half skein actually did make a decent length of sock. I added a touch of Lorna’s Worsted in Carrot, just for the heck of it, and was highly amused to discover that it’s a perfect match for one of the intermediate colors in the Spirit Trails yarn.

I also started the second sock, for my first short-row toe ever. (No, I don’t care that the socks won’t match. They won’t be glaringly different under sandals, and that’s all that matters.)

Spiritsocks_0221

That’s a finished sock, a short-row toe, and the provisional cast-on I had to pick out of the toe. I am not good at the provisional cast-ons. I can actually manage the crochet bit okay, but there’s something about picking up from the crochet chain that I haven’t figured out. Eh, well, I have a toe-hat anyway.

In the same color scheme, I picked up these when I went grocery shopping on Sunday:

Dyepackets

Some time soon, when I have a few hours to spare, I’m going to wind off a third of the A-93 that I bought in September, and dye it up in red with yellow and orange. Or maybe just red with some splashes of orange. My hope is that it’ll be nice enough to use for the Lotus Blossom Shawl.

Yes, I’m getting kind of antsy with this one project for two weeks thing. But soon! Soon, I’ll have a finished pair of socks!

(You know, I think my color preferences are getting a bit…obvious? stereotyped? boring, except that they really are my favorite colors?, what with the sock yarn, the kool-aid colors, the blog color scheme…the dyed roving I got from Amy… But maybe I should look harder for green and brown, my other favorite colors.)

