I’ve been home sick for most of the last week, with the Virus That’s Going Around. Alas, it seems that all of my tea and soup and blankets have extended the pre-hacking-cough part, but I’m still not enough better to last more than an hour or two at work. (I may wind up taking the trolley tomorrow, since the walk to work was a lot of what tired me out yesterday, when I lasted all of an hour and a half at work.)

Since I can’t sleep all day, and I haven’t been focussing well enough to do much work reading, and housework proved too much after Sunday, I’ve gotten some more spinning done.

Romney1027
108 yards of romney

The color shows up pretty well on my monitor, somewhere between grass green and olive. It’s a little hairy, which is in part because I didn’t want to pay all that much attention to it and in part because it handled differently from the other fibers I’ve spun (whether that’s because it’s romney or because it’s top, I’m not sure). I am, however, pretty pleased with my consistency. It’s a solid laceweight with only occasional neppy bits. I’ll try to eliminate the neppy bits with the next batch…

On to the question, then, since everyone was so helpful last time:

How insane would it be to attempt to knit the Fiddlesticks Peacock Feathers Shawl with only 1000m (~1100yds) of yarn? The pattern calls for 1260 yds, but that’s as 4 skeins of Jaggerspun Zephyr. I could skip a pattern repeat in the middle if necessary, or maybe make the crocheted loops smaller…but if anyone knows of someone who’s knit the shawl with less than the recommended yardage, could you point me to them?

(The reason: I have been looking for the right yarn for several months, and it’s nowhere to be found. Basically, I want the green version of the Black Onyx Socks that Rock yarn in which I knit the Flower Basket Shawl, but none of the Socks that Rock greens are quite what I want. So I’ve e-mailed with Kathryn at Fleece Artist about custom-dyed laceweight bluefaced leicester, which comes in $35CAD, 1000m skeins. If I can possibly get away with only buying one, that’d be much easier on my budget. Plus, I wouldn’t have the extra ~800m of yarn. Hey, anyone want 3/4 of a skein of evergreen laceweight BFL?)

