I spent a while this afternoon helping one of my labmates buy her first knitting supplies. V. had learned some of the basics a long time ago, and then I re-taught her how to cast on, knit, purl, and decrease (to make up for a couple of stitches she’d accidentally increased) on Thursday, during our lab beach trip. I had been planning another trip to Loop, and V. wanted to come with me.

So, after some labwork, we headed downtown. I was looking for Eucalan, non-metal-non-Crystal Palace circs in sizes smaller than US3, and possibly some dark green variegated yarn for the Peacock Feather shawl. They didn’t have any of those, so I wound up with a ball of Douceur et Soie and a hank of Malabrigo.

Loopyarn
not to be used together

I think the Douceur et Soie is going to become a thrice-cursed scarf, as a test to see whether I like knitting with this sort of yarn, and I have no idea what the malabrigo is going to be. Maybe a hat and mittens or something…but it’s really soft and has good yardage, so I bought it.

V. bought Stitch’n’Bitch, a pair of 8’s, and some Blue Sky cotton, with the intent to make some sort of rectangle as a baby gift. I don’t understand why people think that hats on circs are hard (and they sure take less yarn than blankets), but there was only so much I was going to argue. After all, I don’t want to scare her away from knitting. Or make her think I’m enough of a fiber freak that she shouldn’t come back to our lab after her fall rotation.

